2 Anoka County Board Swears in New Members | Anoka County Homes for Sale & Real Estate Listings

Blog Details

Anoka County Board Swears in New Members

Anoka County swore in its newest elected members of their county board Tuesday morning. The ceremony had four returning members who won their reelection campaigns, Matt Look, Robyn West, Carol LeDoux, and Rhonda Sivarajah. The two other sworn in, Julie Braastad and Scott Schulte, were newcomers who beat their incumbents in the elections. County Commissioner Jim Kordiak was not on the ballot because he is in the middle of his four-year term.

Rhonda Sivarajah was unanimously re-elected as the county board’s chairperson, 2013 marking her third year holding the position.

“I am honored and privileged to be elected chairperson and I appreciate the support of my peers,” Sivarajah said. “I am looking forward to a wonderful 2013; we have a great team.”

Though Tuesday was a big day for the elected, many of these civil servants are busy with more than just this Anoka county board. Sivarajah is also chairperson of the Human Services Committee, Kordiak chairs the Waste Management and Energy Committee as well as the Park and Recreation Committee, and Robyn West was reappointed chairperson in three of the other committees she serves on. These board members are highly involved with the future of Anoka County; their dedication to their work makes the future seem bright.

Posted on January 11 2013